Portsmouth Personal Injury Attorney
Standing Up for the Injured Throughout Virginia
Dealing with an injury is difficult, and can result in severe financial strain, impacting your ability to work, and provide for your family. Furthermore, if you’ve been injured as a result of someone else’s negligence, knowing what to do can be even more difficult, as few people know what their legal rights are. This is why you should contact an experienced Portsmouth personal injury attorney as soon as possible. Our personal injury lawyers are capable of handling these complex matters, and will be able to advise you of your legal options and help you make decisions with confidence.
If you’re suffering as a result of someone else’s negligence or recklessness, call Kozak, Davis & Renninger today at (757) 364-0923.
Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury in Virginia
Virginia Code section 8.01-243(A) states that every action of personal injury shall be brought to attention within two years. This deadline applies to almost all types of injury cases whether they are caused by negligence or intentional tort.
The process by which you will request damages for your losses include:
- Filing a complaint with the court inside of 2 years, which also involves paperwork and other documentation.
- Serving the defendant with your summons and complaint. The summons identifies the parties to the litigation and explains why the defendant is being sued.
If you miss the deadline, your case will most likely be dismissed by a judge or the defendant will file a motion to dismiss.
Exceptions to the 2-year rule include the following circumstances:
- If the person injured is under the age of 18 or is incapacitated. Once the person turns 18 or regains mental capacity, the clock will start ticking.
- If the person who is allegedly responsible for the accident files for bankruptcy, then the lawsuit will be “obstructed”, and the duration of the obstruction will not count towards the 2-year window.
For more information about filing a personal injury lawsuit in Virginia, call our office today!
You May Have Grounds for a Personal Injury Case
There are many different circumstances that can lead to a personal injury case, and it’s important to know your legal rights. If you’ve been injured because someone else was either reckless or negligent, you may be owed compensation for medical treatment and other associated damages. This compensation is vital to your recovery and can help you and your family move forward after a traumatic event.
What are the different types of personal injury cases?
Nursing home abuse and/or negligence
- Wrongful death
If you or a loved one has suffered injury as a result of someone else’s wrong doing, call our Portsmouth personal injury lawyers for help!
Over 100 Years of Combined Experience on Your Side
At Kozak, Davis & Renninger, we know how devastating an injury can be. You may be facing long-term medical treatment, chronic pain, or permanent disability. It is vital to your recovery that you seek the compensation that you need to move forward. Our experienced personal injury attorneys in Portsmouth are standing by to help. You don’t have to suffer in silence; we are here for you.
To schedule an appointment with one of our injury lawyers, call us at (757) 364-0923.